Strange girl – new sculpt completed


~ by erikatakacs on June 29, 2008.

12 Responses to “Strange girl – new sculpt completed”

  1. Erika: I like the distribution, the rhythm, of her horns or branches. One of them does look like a deer horn. Here in Spain some people might smile, just as they do when they see anything with horns. In Hungary are there jokes about that too? (Horns on a guy mean his wife has a boyfriend. Originally he was despicable because he consented to the infidelity but now it only means the wife is cheating on him. Horns on women (their husband runs around) are funny only by symmetry.

    Your girl’s face reminds me of the ones some old almanacs used to give the moon—but yours goes on to say more, of course. Great eyes. Is the piece stable? Won’t it hurt itself badly if it falls over?
    I like your patinas too. What—do you paint on betun and then rub it off, then varnish? Funny how the light gives her a completely different look in the two photos.

  2. Why didn’t think of that? Of course, they say someone has been “horned”. I would really like to know what is the origin of that saying. Thanks for your compliment, Swallows. Yes, the piece needs a base, it’s a little wobbly. I don’t know what betun is, it’s watercolour I usually use, then seal. It almost looks like marble, where it’s rubbed off, isn’t?

  3. I once made a sort of Goyesque figure of a bull dressed in a fine suit. The man at the foundry took one look at it and told me not to cast it.”I know I’m speaking against my own interests but let me tell you that no one will buy this figure from you here in Spain,” he said.
    “Do you mean because of the horns?” I asked.
    “Aren’t there horns in your country? Listen: A customer of mine once gave one of my stags (the foundry man himself modelled and cast deer and dogs and boars) to a friend of his as a birthday present and when the friend unwrapped the present and saw what it was, he turned red and then socked my customer in the face. They ended up nearly killing each other. The fellow thought the stag was him–that it was an allusion to his wife’s infidelity.”
    I couldn’t believe this story at the time but now I might. The country is obsessed with this horn business. No coincidence that the biggest Spanish insult is “cabrón”, which is literally a he-goat.

  4. Maybe the guy’s wife was having an affair. If so, no wonder he was offended by the horn. It’s not a big deal in Hungary, the expression is used mostly in jokes and stories, so horns have no dubious meaning. Funny that country, Spain!
    Apparently the origin of horned is very old, possibly referring to stag fights over a female. Listen to this: in the seventeenth century BOTH husband and wife were punished by being mounted backwards on a horse, and paraded through the town’s streets, while people were banging pots and kettles! Gotta love that “creative” medieval way of thinking! Their streets must have been noisy! :)

  5. I like this one, Erika.

  6. Thanks, Kim.

  7. She has such as expressive face. Well done.

    I’ve been wondering about your painting technique, as well. Do you always use watercolor, such as on the gargoyle? Do you use more than one color? I had assumed it was a drybrushing technique with something like acrylics, but couldn’t figure it out. The results are quite nice and do look like marble on this one. It gives an interesting aged quality.

  8. Thanks, Helio. I like to use watercolour, because it’s easier to wash off if needed. Usually I use more than one colour. I did a lot of experimenting on my last one, still not finished. Everything from watercolour, to acrylics, clay slip and next shoshine, which I hear can give a nice matte finish.

  9. Beautiful..just beautiful…

  10. Thank you Connetta for your kind remarks on my works.

  11. [...] via erika takacs, erika takacs, [...]

  12. [...] via erika takacs, erika takacs, [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

