Momentum: paper mache sculpture


This is the first work I’m entirely happy with. Concept, composition, gesture, technique everything seems to fall in place.  It took three long years… Or short, if we put things in perspective.

~ by erikatakacs on February 20, 2010.

7 Responses to “Momentum: paper mache sculpture”

  1. I’d be happy with it too. You found just the right base (marble?) and you solved the old problem about what color to paint her. Is her raised leg really longer or does it just look that way? In any case, it is certainly the right length. You go right on mixing materials happily. I like the mini-flaxen look of the hair; and it was very bold of you to make it do for the head too. Of course the boots and heels remind us of your running figure with the red ones.
    At the foundry they could make a mold of this and you’d be able to reproduce it. Do you know about the convention of 7 (or 8) copies allowed to be sold as “unique” pieces?

  2. Thanks a lot, Swallows! The base is plaster covered with mache, painted with acrylic paint. I don’t think her raised leg is longer, must be the angle. Yes, the head wasn’t necessary to tell the story. She has the spirit of Nike of Samothrace. And have you noticed she put on some weight? :D Yeah, getting closer to bronze level.

  3. These are reminding me of Bruno Bruni pieces. Do you know his sculptures?

  4. I think you are dead on with the success of this work. Great movement, and the finish is wonderful.

  5. No, I’m not familiar with Bruni, but looked him up. I see what you mean, Kevin, he’s not interested in the face. It’s strange for me to ignore the head, as I like to model faces. But in this case I felt it was useless. I think I’ll make another one soon.

  6. Great work!

  7. i really love your work!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

