Crowd


My latest abstracted figure painting, placing the figures closer together. My hope through this and my colour choices was to express some uneasiness inside the easiness. To my surprise the overall effect was pattern emerging! I also noticed some eye-tricking motion, flowing from the bottom corners of the painting towards the centre. I tried to emphasize this with additional subtle changes in colour. I am getting really interested in optical illusion and its possibilities. This is nothing new, as I recall drawings from my teenage years in Vasarely’s style. I lost my interest fairly soon after admitting that his art was too recognizably unique, not a viable option for me. I see something potentially exciting happening here,  a chance for a unique approach that I would like to experiment with more in the future. But I am well aware that it is in its embryo stage now. And sculpture is still my priority.

~ by erikatakacs on June 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

