Relief on bowl (scroll down for daily progress)


girlsbowl21.jpg

 

 

 

girlsbowl.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Me being me, I started another ambitious project. As if working in relief wasn’t enough challenge in itself, I have to deal with the roundness of the bowl as well.  There will be three girls. Unfortunately the mache is drying fast, hard to do detail or changes comfortably.  Interestingly the feet gave me the most trouble because of  foreshortening. I’m learning a lot, and that’s a good thing.  I’m working  entirely from my head, these photos do help to keep proportions in check. I’ll need to make the head of the girl on the right bigger.

girlsbowl3.jpg

Some progress made today. Wet girls heels look funny. Unfortunately I’ve no idea how to correct them. I never thought I would have to deal with foreshortening in sculpture!

girlsbowl4.jpg

Done some detail work today, mostly hair. Probably the most satisfying part so far.  I couldn’t take a very good picture in late afternoon.

girlsbowl5.jpg

March 2, more hair, hands and heels detail. Will make more adjustments, nothing major.

~ by erikatakacs on February 28, 2008.

9 Responses to “Relief on bowl (scroll down for daily progress)”

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Thanks, Kim. If only I could rework where I go wrong. This medium won’t allow much going back. And I’m not a fast worker like you.

  3. This is gettting really good. The faces are nice (important and hard to do) and that was a surprise to see the new girl from the back. The hair was a great idea too and your using it to unify the three. Good composition. Don’t worry about the feet from the back. You could have her stand on tiptoe and so show more of her feet–seems like you started to do that already on one foot.

  4. Thank you, Swallows. Hope when I paint the girls, they’ll stand out a little more. But will keep them mostly white.

  5. I liked the orange version , including the beautiful hairless head of the girl on the right. But the final version looks more finished, I guess.

  6. [...] https://erikatakacs.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/relief-on-bowl/ [...]

  7. I like that girl the least, Swallows. Made some changes to her hair, hope is better.

  8. Beautiful piece! LOVE it!

  9. Thank you, Sheila. I love your beads very much, especially the abstract figures. I’ll add your blog to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

