Sculptural stops of a trip


I just came back from a wonderful trip with my family. We visited Montreal, Quebec, and Ottawa.  Quebec has to be one of the most beautiful cities of North America, truly amazing. Each of these cities has plenty of sculpture, statues and monuments in public spaces both in classical and contemporary styles. I just want to show a few of my favourite pictures:

We were passing by this lovely bronze on our way to the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montréal. It rained while we were inside. The raindrops inspired my photography:

Montreal_090

 

 Montreal_091                                                                                                                                                                                                             The Gallery has a very nice pre colombian collection of sculptures, and it was exhibited together with Sacred Africa II, works from the collection of Cirque du Soleil, the Montréal Museum and Redpath Museum, McGill University. Two of my favourite African sculptures (they were displayed behind glass, very difficutl to photograph):

African1African2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They were mostly carved out of wood, some with interesting textured old patina, that made them look like metal.

The pre colombian exhibit included two lovely representations of very young children:

Precolombian2Precolombian3Precolombian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Museum had a small collection of Greco-Roman sculpture of special interest to me, mostly portraits. I could have spent half a day studying three or four that I loved, but being with family and short on time, had to move on. Here’s a picture of the collection (the small female bust behind my right shoulder was my favourite, with a presence and timeless air to her that always is of top importance to me). Unfortunately I don’t have a good photo of her.

Greekromancollection

~ by erikatakacs on August 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

