Lady of the Tree


Lady of the Tree was born from a tree we cut down last year. I looked at the pile of scrap wood and thought I could use this piece for one of my figures. I wasn’t particularly inspired, but hoped something eventually would emerge.
While working on the torso I happened to watch the movie Elizabeth, which in turn inspired me to look at her portraits. Her face was more interesting than beautiful, but nothing better than an interesting face for a sculptor. I found her portraits outrageously rigid, so over the top that they became an inspiration. Just what I needed. This experience changed the course of my developing figure. She got Elizabeth’s hairdo and a huge collar reminiscent of her extravagant style. I didn’t want my lady to suffocate so I gave her an open collar. Elizabeth’s were chokingly tight.

3 thoughts on “Lady of the Tree

  1. giiid June 26, 2010 / 14:05

    Wow, this is so beautiful, you have used the lines of the wood sovery well, and the different structure,- the wood and the white- is so nice together. You realy deserve to win, I know you will win much more before too long. Personally you have already been winning for a long time.

    Like

  2. erikatakacs June 27, 2010 / 14:05

    Thanks Birgitte. I really like this piece too, and hope to get even better at painting sculpture.

    Like

  3. Filipa July 7, 2010 / 14:05

    Our ladies!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

